I just read a post over at Storked! titled, “What would you do with an extra hour?” Chrissy is a single mom in Jersey, and I love her blog not because of the mom factor (although I’ve been reading since JD was a tiny baby, and I think he is an adorably cute kid!), but because she has a job I’m after. However, she and I are very different, and so, friends, I’d just like to think about the things I get to do with my hours that are all my own. Yup, maybe I’m gloating, but right now, I’m in this time of my life and I know it’s a selfish one. What, really, do you have to worry about in college besides yourself? YOUR grades, YOUR friends, YOUR accommodations. Soon (hopefully..), I’ll have a husband who will change that, and a job that will change that, and kids that will change it more. So, things that I absolutely love doing:

  • I LOVE my library routine on Tuesdays and Thursdays, and I realize I’ve spoken about it tons, but I want to remember it, because next semester I won’t have it. I go to the library after my 8:00 class, when it’s still and quiet and only serious studiers or people who got the early classes have crept from bed. I hide out on the third floor in a comfy chair with a large coffee and blog. Occasionally I do homework, but really this is my morning time to get everything together for the long day ahead (and it’s a long one). It’s all for me.
  • I love taking long showers. I do this rarely, because so many times I’m on a time crunch- shower before church, shower before meeting friends, shower before Janie comes down, shower after working out. But every now and then I just have a pocket of time that I choose to fill with showering and I can shave and deep condition and exfoliate and let the water work out the knots in my shoulders. I can blow-dry and straighten and moisturize. Mmmmmm.
  • I love watching Grey’s Anatomy. Enough said.
  • Sleep! I WILL sleep in m/w/f, thankyouverymuch. No, I won’t meet you for lunch at eleven or on the quad at ten or for coffee (okay, I do meet people sometimes). But mostly, I just enjoy sleeping. Especially on Fridays. Sadly, I am still very sleep deprived. But I’m not alone: College freshmen everywhere skimp on sleep. Drats. I will get better. I will.
  • Facebooking, blogging, chatting. All those online things that fuel my generation.
  • Reading. Oh, I am revamping my love of reading. Thank you, Gorgas Library!
What do you indulge in? If you can’t think of something, shame on you!
What do you think?

