Guess what I am!

Don’t let me know some of the things that just came to mind. Especially if you have ever lived with me. The answer, though, is 20!

That’s right. I could officially be part of the Friends cast because I’m a twentysomething. I can look down upon those little youngsters who call themselves teenagers. Psh. I can vote. Oh, wait…

Anyway, I want to give a giant YOU’RE THE BEST FRIENDS EVER shout-out to, well, the best friends ever. Sadly, I don’t have a picture from that night. Crazy, right?! I know. The lesson here: The less pictures you have, the more fun you had. I’m sure there are exceptions, but that seems legitimate. Well, I mean, there’s this:

That was at Gracie’s birthday party. But picture the same thing- well, the same smiles. We were actually on the floor of my apartment, so there were less waterfalls.

The craziest thing about this birthday is how fast it came, how it sort of just showed up around the corner, no countdown needed. That was different: in the very way that it came, as I was too busy procrastinating writing papers and writing papers, it had a feel that said “grown-up.” That wasn’t a bad thing- I was so blessed during the days that surrounded that day that it was hard not to burst into song at times.

Truth be told, I did. I did sing.

What I’m saying here is that is was appropriate, this jumping from one stage into another, this feeling of being different in the way that everyone must eventually feel. And suddenly, I don’t know exactly when or how, though I do have some ideas- but suddenly I was grown-up. I’m doing it. And now I’ve got the numbers to prove it. I mean, you know, because 20 is when you get to apply to the AARP, which is good, because decaf coffee and heating pads are right up my alley.

Just for kicks and giggles:

I’m proud of who I became, who I am, who I’ll be.

I’m confident that I’m the me I was intended to be by the God who has laid out my road before me.

The LORD makes firm the steps
of the one who delights in him;

though he may stumble, he will not fall,
for the LORD upholds him with his hand.

-Psalm 37:23-24

I can’t wait!

If you’re interested, there’s always last year’s birthday post.

2 thoughts on “Guess what I am!

What do you think?

