The Greatest of These

I’m reading a book. It’s called The 4:8 Principle. I stole/borrowed/snatched it from Janie’s room. It didn’t look like she was reading it, since she’s out of town for a week and it’s in town with me. Anyway, the book is based on is based on Philippians 4:8:

For the rest, brethren, whatever is true, whatever is worthy of reverence and is honorable and seemly, whatever is just, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely and lovable, whatever is kind and winsome and gracious, if there is any virtue and excellence, if there is anything worthy of praise, think on and weigh and take account of these things [fix your minds on them]. -Philippians 4:8, AMP

I’m fond of the amped-upversion because it seems that words are my crack cocaine, and the adjectives make my heart flutter. The point, I’m learning, of the book is that you can control your thoughts- you can think about Godly things. In fact, according to Philippians 4:8, you are called to. And this calling doubles as the kerosene to light your joy on fire. But, I’m only on chapter three, so that’s all I’ve got.

Still. I’m working feverishly at being joy-filled, and at insisting that my joy be found in Jesus Christ first, His blessings in my life second. Earth-joy just wasn’t doing it for me, you know? Not when I could have the absolute real-deal. And I knew I could.

“I have told you these things, that My joy and delight may be in you, and that your joy and gladness may be of full measure and complete and overflowing.” -John 15:11

So, I wanted to practice. The author coaches his readers to heed the command of Phil. 4:8 and control their thoughts, to spin them to things that are seemly and lovely and winsome and worthy of praise. I thought today seemed like a good day to try to give over the whole day because today is one of those days in my life. I thought about writing a long, emotional blog post about it, but I didn’t think that would capture the joy of today. Because today, I focused on things that are honorable and pure and just and lovable. And I don’t just mean that I saw the glass half-full, I mean that I saw the world through the sunglasses of joy that a Savior bought for me.

It was kind of tricky, though, to run away from negatively, especially today. Mostly, though, it started getting easier, though I kind of lost it in Wal-Mart when I realized they didn’t have peppermint orbit. I got over it by telling myself to,uh, get over it. So. In lieu of a drawn-out deal about things I’ve already posted about and yada yada yada, I instead want to remind myself, and you, about all of the blessings that fill my cup each morning, starting with coffee, of course.

I love coffee. I love the whole experience of smelling it and scooping it and I really love the way it sounds as it’s being made. I love coffee shops. I love feeling like I’m part of a secret club and all you have to do to be a member is sit in a coffee shop for awhile. I especially love “meeting for coffee.” I love walks. I very much love going on walks with people I love. But I love going for walks by myself and letting my thoughts wander and I love listening to music and I love being lost there. I love Pandora. I love mix cds. I love any moment that has a song I love playing. I love dancing. I love lying down on my back after a good work out and feeling my heart beat. I love yoga. I love corpse pose.   I love the feeling that happens when I can do something I couldn’t do last time. I love when my phone rings and it’s my best friend, or my mom, or my sister. I love when I go to my phone and I have a text message or five. I love emails that are from real people. I love the moments right before I lose consciousness at night. I love the smell of sweet potatoes. I love super crunchy apples and super creamy oatmeal. I love opening my Bible and finding that just what I needed is right there. I love when the Holy Spirit awakens me so that my heart starts beating faster. I love laughing. I love laughing so much. I LOVE talks, no matter how long or short they are. I love it when miscommunication is cleared up. I love it when somebody takes a risk and lays his or her feelings down. I love it when people surprise me. I love it when I know what someone’s thinking. I love lying in the sun. I love hammocks. I love reading really excellent books. I love reading magazines. I love when people rub my back. I love watermelon and I love smoothies. I absolutely love sunrises. I love it when I guestimate the time and I’m right. I love hearing a key in the door. I love dark chocolate. I love reading the Crimson White. I love blogs. I love tea in the wintertime.  I love photos. I love look-back photos. I love poetry. I love English teachers who know how to make you get it and love it. I love mornings! I love hugs, even if they’re not that great. I love when people kiss me on the cheek or ruffle my hair. Not surprisingly, I love letters and I love cards and I love Post-Its that say, “Have a good day!” I really love cereal too much. I love people, especially those I love.Probably more than most other things, I love flowers. And I do love coffee.

Share your love. That’s why there’s a comments section, people.  Tell me about your own blessings. Things you love. But even if you don’t, remember to think about them all day long anyway.

2 thoughts on “The Greatest of These

What do you think?

