Keeping It Real

Friends, I have something to tell you. A confession of sorts, if you will. You see, I’m a loser.

Here’s a list of things I’ve lost recently: every pencil and pen in my bookbag, a tube of chapstick, three headbands, a pack of orbit, my brown cardigan, my FAVORITE sunglasses, a container of yogurt and a container of cottage cheese, my black tank top, my marbles…the list goes on and on, people. This is a character flaw, but it’s something I’m working on. Still, that isn’t my confession; my confession is this: I lost my camera battery charger. And that, friends, makes me a bad blogger. What’s a good blog post without some stunning photography?

Of course, I can’t make excuses any longer. I know that I have this devoted readership, and I have to give you something. And besides, who needs more pictures of me posing cheerily enthusiastically with my friends at an Alabama football game?

Okay, like one is going to hurt anything. You can’t pretend that’s not precious.

Anyway, I’ll show you what’s been up with me, and don’t worry—I’ve got pictures.

First things first: It’s apple season!

If you know me at all, you know that I eat apples like I eat brownies. Basically, um, I like both of those things very much. And so apple season pumps me up more than, say, cantaloupe season.  But apple season doesn’t just mean apples. It means apple cider. And sweaters. And sitting on the steps of Gorgas without sweating. And pumpkins. And a million other wonderful Fall things. This is a season to celebrate if I’ve ever heard of one. Happy apples!

This is Gracie. Word on the street is that some of the ideas we come up with are a little crazy, or perhaps even far-fetched, but always fun. This is Gracie after I knocked on the door of the dorm room she lived in two years ago. (We just wanted to say hello.) They didn’t answer the door (word on the street is that it was 11 p.m. or something), but we snapped our picture and got a cookie from the girl in the kitchen and hey, nobody got hurt. And we had fun. And ate cookies.

Of course, along with the fun is the other fun, and by other fun, I do mean school + work. Read: The Things That Rule My Life. And yet, it is fun. But it’s a lot of running around and work writing, too. It’s a lot of early morning and several late afternoons and one particularly late evening (read: it takes a lot of coffee.) And though I get more and mroe certain every day that I don’t want to do anything else (except for those days when I dream about opening a coffee shop), sometimes this happens:

When this is the case, I plow through until Friday afternoon, and then I clean my desk. I shut down my computer. I skip out to my car and I ride home with the windows down. Sometimes, my weekends involve some Tuscaloosa-hanging, but this particular weekend, it involved this:

Taylor turned 8 (!) years old, and so I came home for pizza and cuddling and six pieces of chocolate chip pound cake. And after all that refreshment, I’m ready to get back in the game.

And friends? I ain’t never been nothing but a winner.

One thought on “Keeping It Real

What do you think?

