A Grateful Heart

Thanksgiving.

“Let them give thanks to the LORD for his unfailing love
and his wonderful deeds for mankind. ” -Psalm 107:32

How precious are the blessings the Lord has bestowed upon me. My life is so busy; my world spins so quickly, sometimes too quickly for me to stop and notice the roses. Or the golden leaves.

 

And even on Thanksgiving, there’s so much doing that we so often get wrapped up in chopping potatoes and opening cans of cranberry sauce (let’s face it: canned is best and you can’t convince me otherwise), that we sure don’t stop and say “thank you.” Some of us even get so distracted by the stress of food + family (that doesn’t stress you out? Can I come over for Christmas?) that we end up flustered and sweating and

oh my goodness, the macaroni and cheese is late!

That didn’t happen to me, because, well, I didn’t do any cooking besides accidentally catching a leg of the turkey on fire. And opening the cranberry sauce. But, hypothetically, if that did happen, I would be sad. Because I have been abundantly blessed by the Lord. And though I forget, though I rush right by, though I get stressed and tear my hair our, though I catch turkeys on fire and everything goes up in smoke—Take a step back, ace. We don’t cry over smoking turkeys.

The thing is, I have. And what I have reminds me so very often that I am blessed and highly favored by a God who delights in me. (And you!)

I have sunny days, wasting hours with my favorite characters.

I have Alabama football, which lets me know how it feels to be part of something that is bigger than myself. I bet you didn’t know football could do that. (It’s also fun to win and I like to eat nachos.)

I have a warm, cozy place to call home. Actually, make that two.

Most especially, I know what it feels like to be loved.

Honored, encouraged, cherished.

Lots of the time, this love comes from people I never might have suspected.

It’s not a cookie-cutter kind of love. But it’s all mine. And it’s perfect.

My life bursts: coffee, flowers, singalongs, brownies.

Laughter till my stomach hurts.

We have a new season coming. There may be some blistery days, but there are no snowflakes without the cold.

Or hot chocolate, for that matter.

What I’m trying to say here is thank you.

To you, reading along without a reason.

To these people who stream sunshine into my days and keep me laughing.

To a Savior who died to call me his child—And for the love that our love simply strives to imitate,

a love more faithful than the morning.

His love never fails.

And I am thankful for that.

What do you think?

